What is the ‘Five Eyes’ alliance of intelligence agencies? US’s desire – India, Japan and South Korea should also be part of it

क्या है खुफिया एजेंसियों का गठबंधन 'फाइव आईज'? US की इच्छा- भारत, जापान और दक्षिण कोरिया भी बनें इसका हिस्सा

The Five Eyes is an intelligence alliance consisting of the United States, Britain, Australia, Canada and New Zealand.

Five Eyes Intelligence Coalition (signal photo)

America wants to invite South Korea to join the ‘Five Eyes’ intelligence-sharing alliance. This information has been given in the report of The Korea Herald. This is happening when the ‘National Defense Authorization Bill’ for the fiscal year 2022 was approved by the US House of Representatives panel on September 2, even before the vote of lawmakers. The bill was first introduced on July 2 by Representatives Adam Smith and Mike Rogers.

The bill is primarily intended to officially approve funding for US military activities and the armed forces for the next fiscal year. This includes continuing support for intelligence sharing operations with US allies, including Five Eyes member states. The Five Eyes Alliance was also cited by the Congressional Subcommittee on Intelligence and Special Operations report reviewing Smith & Rogers’ draft bill. The committee believes that the Five Eyes countries need to work together to deal with Russia and China, the report said.

These changes will happen as soon as Biden signs the ‘National Defense Authorization Bill’

Apart from South Korea, Japan, India and Germany have been proposed as potential new members. If this bill is passed in the US House of Representatives and in the Senate and US President Joe Biden signs it, then for the fiscal year 2022, ‘Five Eyes’ through the ‘National Defense Authorization Bill’. It will expand to ‘Nine Eyes’. However, the South Korean government is yet to express its official stance on the possible expansion of Five Eyes. It said that the level of discussion in the US is at an early stage.

What is Five Eyes?

‘The Five Eyes’ is an intelligence alliance consisting of the US, UK, Australia, Canada and New Zealand. The Origins of the Five Eyes can be traced back to informal meetings between the US and UK code-breakers during World War II. In 1941, members of British and American intelligence began engaging in secret meetings before the signing of the Atlantic Charter in August. These meetings listed global objectives for the two countries beyond the end of the war.

According to Britain’s Government Communications Headquarters (GCHQ), this charter paved the way for the UK-US agreement and later the UKUSA agreement, which was signed in 1946. Declassified UKUSA intelligence documents confirm that the agreement was expanded to include Canada in 1948 and Australia and New Zealand in 1956. In this way the Five Eyes alliance was formed.

Also read: After Afghanistan, America left another country in difficult times, removed its missile defense system


realistic reality mobile new

What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:World