Nobel Peace Prize: Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov received the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel Peace Prize: मारिया रेस्‍सा और दमित्रि मुराटोव को मिला साल 2021 का शांति का नोबेल

Everyone’s eyes are on who will get the Nobel Peace Prize every year.

Nobel Peace Prize 2021: The Nobel Peace Prize for the year 2021 has been announced to be given to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov. This was announced on Friday by the Norway-based Nobel Committee. The committee has told that it has been decided to honor both of them with this year’s Peace Prize for protecting the freedom of expression.

According to the Nobel Committee, freedom of expression is very important for democracy and peace in the world. Last year the Nobel Peace Prize was given to the World Food Program, which was started in 1961 by the then US President Dwight Eichnower. The purpose of this program was to provide food to everyone in the world.

Who are Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov

On behalf of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, it has been said that Ressa had rightly used the freedom of expression to expose the abuse of power, use of violence and dictatorship in his country Philippines. In the year 2012, Maria founded Rappler. She is the co-founder of this digital media company and this company advances investigative journalism.

On the other hand Dmitry Andreevich Muratov is also a journalist. He has co-founded a newspaper named Novaja Gazeta in Russia. The committee says that it is the most independent newspaper in Russia to date. According to the Nobel Committee, Muratov has been defending freedom of speech in Russia for several decades.

What he is doing becomes even more special when he has many challenging situations in front of him in his own country. The Committee emphasized that a free, independent and fact-based journalism is essential to expose abuse of power, lies and war propaganda. This year’s candidates included climate activist Greta Thunberg, media rights group Reporters Without Borders (RSF) and the World Health Organization (WHO).

Nobel will be awarded on December 10

There were many speculations about who will get this award this year. No indication was given by the Nobel Committee as to which person or group would be awarded this honor. In the last decade, many diplomats, doctors and presidents have been honored with this award.

Among the candidates for the Nobel Peace Prize 2021 are Belarus’s exiled opposition leader Svetlana Tikhonskaya and Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny. Tikhonskaya led a peaceful protest in Belarus in 2020, she is a favorite of bookies. The imprisoned Russian opposition leader Alexei Navalny could also be a winner. Along with peace, the rest of the Nobel Prizes are awarded on 10 December every year.

Also read- Abdul Razak Gurnah of Tanzania got the Nobel of Literature, wife went to the kitchen and gave the news of the award


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:World