India once again elected to UNHRC, new term will start from 2022, will serve for three years

भारत एक बार फिर UNHRC के लिए हुआ निर्वाचित, 2022 से शुरू होगा नया कार्यकाल, तीन सालों तक करेगा सेवा

Headquarters of the United Nations Human Rights Council

India was on Thursday re-elected to the United Nations Human Rights Council or UNHRC for 2022-24 and has advocated for the promotion of human rights through ‘respect, dialogue and cooperation’ (Samman, Samvad and Sahyog). And resolved to continue working for conservation. India’s Permanent Mission to the United Nations gave this information by tweeting. Prior to this, India was named the President of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) for a month.

The Permanent Mission of India tweeted and wrote, ‘India was re-elected to UNHRC for the sixth time with an overwhelming majority. Heartfelt thanks to the members of the United Nations for reposing their faith in India. “We will continue to work for the promotion and protection of human rights through respect, dialogue, cooperation,” he said in another tweet. The United Nations General Assembly selected Argentina, Benin, Cameroon, Eritrea, Finland, Zambia, Honduras, India, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Montenegro, Paraguay, Qatar, Somalia, the United Arab Emirates and the United States by secret ballot. done through.

India’s term was ending on December 31 this year

The 76th UN General Assembly on Thursday elected 18 new members of the UN Human Rights Council, who will serve for a three-year term beginning in January 2022. India got 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly, while only 97 members were needed for a majority. The current term of India was to end on 31 December 2021. For the 2022–2024 election, there were five vacant seats in the Asia-Pacific Countries category, which included India, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Qatar and the United Arab Emirates.

Seats are divided on the basis of geographical

India’s mission congratulated other UN member states on their election to the Human Rights Council. It consists of 47 member states that are elected directly and personally by secret ballot by a majority of the members of the General Assembly. The members of the Council shall serve for a term of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate re-election after two consecutive terms. Membership is based on equitable geographic distribution. The Group of African Countries holds 13 seats, the Asia-Pacific Group of Countries has 13 seats, the Group of Eastern European Countries has 6 seats, the Group of Latin American and Caribbean Countries has 8 seats, and the Group of Western European and Other Countries has 8 seats. Between 7 seats are distributed.

ALSO READ: Pakistan’s response to Home Minister Amit Shah’s statement on ‘surgical strike’, said- we are a peace loving country


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:World