PM Modi will participate in the G20 summit on Afghanistan on Tuesday, the Ministry of External Affairs informed

PM मोदी मंगलवार को अफगानिस्तान पर होने वाले G20 शिखर सम्मेलन में लेंगे भाग, विदेश मंत्रालय ने दी जानकारी

Prime Minister of the country Narendra Modi. (file photo)

The Indian Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) said on Monday that Prime Minister Narendra Modi will attend the G20 Extraordinary Leaders’ Summit on Afghanistan on October 12. PM Modi will attend the summit at the invitation of the Italian President. The foreign ministry said the meeting’s agenda would include discussions on response to humanitarian needs and access to basic services and livelihoods in the war-torn nation. In fact, in August this year, the Taliban have taken over Afghanistan.

The MEA said the agenda will also include talks on security and the fight against terrorism and mobility, migration and human rights. The ministry said that the PM had earlier participated in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization- Collective Security Treaty Organization (SCO-CSTO) outreach summit on Afghanistan. External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar had participated in the G20 Foreign Ministers’ meeting on Afghanistan on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly in New York.

The G20 comprises twenty major economies of the world. These efforts are being made to help build international consensus and address the worsening humanitarian crisis in Afghanistan. The summit was first announced by Italian Prime Minister Mario Draghi on 29 September. The meeting will take place a few weeks before the G20 leaders’ summit to be held in Rome on October 30 and 31.

Union Minister Piyush Goyal appointed Sherpa of India for G20

Union Commerce and Industry Minister Piyush Goyal has been appointed as India’s Sherpa for the G20, a grouping that brings together the world’s major economies. India will chair the G20 grouping from December 1, 2022 and host the G20 leaders’ summit for the first time in 2023. Goyal has been appointed as India’s G20 Sherpa in place of Suresh Prabhu.

The Sherpa is the representative of the leaders of the G20 member countries, who coordinate the agenda of the summit and discuss the agenda of economic, political and global discussion with the member countries. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been representing India in the G20 since 2014. India has been a member of the G20 since its inception in 1999. The Ministry of External Affairs says that India will be a part of the G20 troika from December 1, 2021 to November 30, 2024.

These countries are included in the G20

Every year when a member country assumes the presidency, that country works in coordination with the previous year’s president country and the next year’s president country and this process is collectively called Troika. This ensures the consistency and consistency of the group’s agenda. The G20 brings together 19 of the world’s leading economies and the European Union, and its members represent 80 percent of global GDP, 75 percent of global trade and 60 percent of the global population. The G20 includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union. .

read this also: Jammu and Kashmir: Encounter between security forces and terrorists in Bandipora, one terrorist linked to Lashkar killed

read this also: Maharashtra Bandh: Devendra Fadnavis called Maharashtra bandh a hoax, said, ‘Mahavikas Aghadi is getting the bandh done with the help of police’


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Comments are closed.

More in:National