Gujrat CM: Bhupendra Patel is the fifth chief minister from the Patidar community, from Keshubhai to Anandiben .. know about the other four

Gujrat CM: पाटीदार समुदाय से पांचवें मुख्यमंत्री हैं भूपेंद्र पटेल, केशुभाई से लेकर आनंदीबेन तक.. जानिए अन्‍य चारों के बारे में

Gujrat CMs from Patidar Community: Late Chimanbhai Patel was a Congress leader and he was the first Patidar Chief Minister of Gujarat. He assumed office for the first time in July 1973.

Bhupendra Patel is the 5th Chief Minister from the Patidar community in Gujarat

BJP MLA Bhupendra Patel took oath as the new Chief Minister of Gujarat on Monday. He is the 17th Chief Minister of the state. The state of Gujarat came into existence in 1960 and after the formation of the state, he became the fifth chief minister to come from the Patidar community. Out of the 17 CMs of Gujarat, 5 are made from the Patidar community. It shows the clout of this influential community. It is said that Patidars constitute 13 to 14 percent of the total population of Gujarat.

The state was formed 61 years ago and since then Gujarat has had a total of 17 chief ministers, out of which five are from the Patel community. In Gujarat, the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Bhupendra Patel (59) has taken over the responsibility of the chief minister’s post at a time when there is about a quarter of a year left for the assembly elections in the state.

Before Bhupendra, 4 CMs were made from the Patidar community

Anandiben Patel, Keshubhai Patel, Babubhai Patel and Chimanbhai Patel are four other chief ministers from the Patidar or Patel community before the 17th Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel. The election of Patel to the top post by the ruling BJP came as a surprise. BJP’s appointment of him as chief minister is being seen as an attempt by the party to woo the Patidars ahead of the 2022 elections and retain its hold on Gujarat, where the BJP has been ruling for more than two decades.

Got the top post in the first legislature itself

Bhupendra Patel, who took oath as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat at the Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar, has become an MLA for the first time and is considered close to Anandiben Patel. Anandiben Patel had resigned as chief minister in August 2016 after the state-wide Patidar quota agitation turned violent. According to the report of PTI, many Chief Ministers have been made from the OBC community in Gujarat. These include many names including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Madhav Singh Solanki.

Chimanbhai was Patidar Chief Minister from Congress

The late Chimanbhai Patel was a Congress leader and he was the first Patidar Chief Minister of Gujarat. He assumed office for the first time in July 1973. He resigned in February 1974 as a result of the ‘Navnirman Andolan’, a movement launched by college students against an increase in the hostel food bill.

Chimanbhai Patel once again became the Chief Minister in October 1990 and remained in this post till February 1994. The late Babubhai Jasbhai Patel, leader of Janata Morcha and Janata Party, also held the post of Chief Minister twice. His first term was from June 1975 to March 1976. He held office again from April 1977 to February 1980.

Keshubhai Patel was Patidar CM before BJP

Late Keshubhai Patel was the first Chief Minister of BJP in Gujarat. He assumed office in March 1995 after the BJP got a decisive majority in the assembly elections. However, Keshubhai Patel resigned after seven months as his party colleague Shankarsinh Vaghela rebelled against him. Vaghela wanted to become the chief minister after the victory of the BJP.

In the 1998 assembly elections, the BJP returned to power under the leadership of Keshubhai Patel and became the Chief Minister once again. However, he resigned prematurely in October 2001 citing ill health, paving the way for Modi to become the chief minister and Modi held the position till 2014.

Anandiben to command after Narendra Modi moves to the center

After Modi left Gujarat in May 2014, the BJP handed over the reins of Gujarat to Anandiben Patel, who had contested from the Ghatlodia assembly seat in Ahmedabad. However, he resigned in August 2016 citing a BJP rule that bars leaders above the age of 75 from holding any important post. Although it is not mentioned in the party constitution.

Contrary to Anandiben Patel’s claims, political experts believed that he had resigned from the post to pacify the anger of the agitating Patidar community, which had called on the BJP to not accept the community’s demand for OBC status. were angry. In 2016, when Nitin Patel was seen as a strong contender for the top post, the BJP chose Vijay Rupani (Jain) for the chief minister’s post.

Also read:- Bhupendra Patel: Know who is the new Chief Minister of Gujarat, what is the meaning of this big bet of BJP?


What's your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in:National