- Advertisement -
HomeAutoIPL 2021: Shubman Gill saved by 'upper force', not out despite being...

IPL 2021: Shubman Gill saved by ‘upper force’, not out despite being caught

Shubman Gill scored 51 runs in the final of IPL 2021.

Anything is possible in the cricket field. This proverb proved to be true once again in the final of IPL 2021. Have you ever seen that the batsman’s catch was taken? The ball was not even a no ball but still it was declared not out. Aren’t you surprised? Something similar happened in the final of IPL 2021 and KKR opener Shubman Gill got such a life. In the 10th over of Kolkata Knight Riders’ innings, Gill got a wonderful life off Jadeja’s ball and he was declared not out due to upper strength.

Shubman Gill played a slog sweep on the second ball of the 10th over. The ball hit his bat and stood in the air at midwicket. Rayudu also took the best catch but the umpires gave Gill not out. Actually the ball was hit in the air on the wire of the spider cam and according to the rules that ball is declared dead. This moment was no less than a setback for Chennai Super Kings as Gill and Venkatesh Iyer added 79 runs.

Chennai made a tremendous comeback

However, getting the life of Shubman Gill did not bother Chennai Super Kings much as Shardul Thakur gave him two successes in the very next over. Shardul first dismissed Venkatesh Iyer, who scored 50 runs in 32 balls, while Nitish Rana was also dealt with on the very first ball. In the next over, Hazlewood got Sunil Narine out caught by Jadeja. Shubman Gill’s game also ended in the 14th over. He was dismissed by Deepak Chahar on a personal score of 51 runs. In the 15th over, Jadeja also ensured Kolkata’s defeat by dismissing Dinesh Karthik and Shakib Al Hasan in two consecutive balls.

Kolkata’s team missed the chance to become the champion for the third time. In reply to Chennai Super Kings’ 192 runs, Kolkata Knight Riders could only manage 165 for 9 and lost the match by 27 runs. Let us tell you that Kolkata’s team has lost for the first time after reaching the IPL final. Kolkata won the title in the year 2012 and 2014. At the same time, Chennai Super Kings became the IPL champion for the fourth time. Chennai has once again achieved the distinction of becoming the IPL champion after 2010, 2011, 2018.

Chennai Super Kings captured IPL 2021, MS Dhoni won the title for the fourth time, Kolkata lost


Newsncr.com latest publishes news from the automobile, investment, real estate, technology, and related sectors. But in addition to that, we also cover lifestyle topics, like fashion, food, travel, and health. Along with all these, we also keep an eye on rising topics like cryptocurrency, startups, venture capital.
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -